Ellsworth and his wife Hebe sold this part of his huge lot to Charles R.
King in 1876, upon which King built this example, unique in Penn Yan, of
French Rennaissance-inspired Gothic Revival.
Today it has been converted
into offices with the original interior etched-glass pocket doors and other
beautiful and extravagant touches. It is called "The Post House"
after one of its later and more flamboyant owners, Mary Leah Post. A member
of the wealthy Post family of the town of Seneca, she married into both
the Potter and the Norris families in Penn Yan, two of the oldest in the
area. In addition to all this, her first marriage (to Rexford Potter, son
of Edson Potter the fruit-basket man, and his wife Elizabeth Friend Brown)
ended in divorce.
The land was vacant
when King purchased it from the Ellsworths. Stewart Ellsworth and his wife
Hebe Magee lived on the site of #213 when it burned in 1871; and they now
lived in the house at 227 Main Street. The original lot that the Ellsworth
house stood on was very large. Mrs Ellsworth sold this lot to King and the
rest (which stretched east as far as Sheppard Street and south to Clinton
Street) to John H. Butler in the following year.
The two adjacent houses,
this one and #213, must have been quite a sight standing together next to
the gorgeous and soaring Presbyterian church on the corner, very impressive
indeed for a village the size of Penn Yan. This is the only structure of
the three that survives from that period, and though it is no longer a residence
the exterior has been marvelously restored and maintained.